GMIS Illinois was founded in 1988 by Ms. Val Andres, an Information Technologies professional.  Ms. Andres' inspiration was to create and foster a group of technology professionals from within the public sector wherein project concepts could be openly shared.

In 2006 the Val Andres Award was established and awarded to Val on behalf of her unwavering and continuing dedication to the organization and now the award is given annually in her honor.

Every year, just prior to the annual GIANTS conference, a committee chaired by Val Andres and comprised of former award recipients selects a member of the GMIS Illinois organization for this award.  Recipients are chosen based on their spirit, dedication and significant contribution to GMIS Illinois.  In addition to the recognition, the award comes with a $500 scholarship that GMIS Illinois will pay toward a conference or training for the recipient.


 2006 Val Andres 2013 Sam Ferguson
 2007 Diane Nelson 2014 Joan Middleton
 2008 Steve Macygin 2015 Brian Johanpeter
 2009 Victor Ambroziak 2016 Marc Thorson
 2010 Chris Westgor 2017 Denise Steffen
 2011 Glen Liljeberg   2018 Lori Baker
 2012 Robert Giddens  2019  Rick Kaczanko

© Government Management Information Sciences Illinois
4 East Ogden Avenue #195, Westmont, Illinois 60559   ph: 312-834-4110

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software